O death where is your sting?

I woke up this morning with a heavy heart, I found out that my dearest friend died last night. He was such a sweetheart, and to think that he is no longer going to be on earth with me is very disheartening.

A minute someone is born, another minute someone dies; we just have to live everyday as if it were our last. Sometimes we get so comfortable and we forget that though life is going smoothly for us, it may not be going as well for the other people that matter in our lives. We get so caught up in the little things in life that we forget the major things like family and friends. I remember getting upset over the fact that I made a C on a test; I got so carried away until my friend told me, “you know other people have it worse than you do so be thankful”. After that moment, I just paused and thanked God because I really did let the little things get to me when I was supposed to be pouring my energy into other things that matter.

My friend lived a beautiful life; he believed life was not guaranteed, and so he always told me he would enjoy each day to its fullest. I am so glad I got to have him as a friend; it is just sad that he left behind some broken hearts.

I dedicate the song “it’s so hard to say goodbye to yesterday” by Boyz II men to my friend, and to all the good souls we have lost.

2 thoughts on “O death where is your sting?

Leave a Reply

